BRIEF HISTORY

Plateau state is located in the north central geo-political zone of Nigeria. It was created in 1976 and has Jos as its capital, Plateau State derived as name from Jos Plateau Highlands. Much of the state consists of undulating highlands of an average height of 1200 meters. There are several rivers and streams forming captivating landscape scenery. The land features show many escarpmens, rugged hills and rock formation. The land area covers about 26,629.5 square kilometers, and this is inhabited by about 3,178.712 according to 2006 census. The gives a population density of about 119 versions per square kilometer.

Plateau State is divided into chiefdom and emirates, each encompassing ethnic groups who share common attributes. Leaders of chiefdoms are elected, while succession to the emirate is hereditary. There are seventeen (17) Local Government Areas in the state, with about 40 ethnic group. Each ethnic group has its language, while Hausa has been widely accepted as a medium of communication. Farming is the main occupation.

Many other tribes in Nigeria have come to settle peacefully among the indigenes of the state, and Christianity is the predominant religion.

Industrial activities include fiber making, smelting, brewing, brick making and confectionary. The Naraguta leather industry is a famous traditional leatherwork industry in Nigeria, columbine and tin are both mined at Bukuru. Other mineral deposits include lead zinc and limestone.

Plateau is well served by good network of roads, two rail lines and a modern airport.

ELECTORAL STATISTICS

S/N	LGA	NO. of PUs	NO. of RAs	
1	Barkin Ladi	131	11	
2	Bassa	145	16	
3	Bokkos	127	14	
4	Jos East	90	10	
5	Jos North	474	14	
6	Jog South	285	12	
7	Kanam	140	14	
8	Kanke	81	10	
9	Langtang North	114	14	
10	Lantang South	68	10	
11	Mangu	223	16	
12	Mikang	60	10	
13	Pankshin	136	12	
14	Qua'anpan	166	11	
15	Riyom	87	10	
16	Shendam	182	12	
17	Wase	122	12	
	TOTAL	2631	207	

SENATORIAL DISTRICTS

S/N	DISTRICT	LGA COMPOSITION	RAs	PUs	COLLATION
					CENTRE

91	Plateau South SD/091/PL	Langtang North/Wase/Langtang South/Mikang/Qua'anpan/Shendam	68	712	LG Council Sec. Shendam
92	Plateau Central SD/092/PL	Bokkos/Kanke/Mangu/Pankshin/ Kanam	66	707	LG Council Pankshin
93	Plateau North SD/093/PL	Barkin Ladi/Bassa/Jos East/Jos North/Jos South/Riyom	73	1,212	LG Council JMDB Jos North

FEDERAL CONSTITUENCIES

S/ N	CONSTITUENCY	LGA COMPOSITION	RAs	PUs	COLLATION CENTRE
308	Jos North/Bassa FC/308/PL	Jos North/Bassa	10	619	Jos North LG Sec.
309	Jos East/Jos South	Jos South/Jos East	12	375	Jos South LG Sec.
310	B-Ladi/Riyom	B-Ladi/Riyom	11	218	B/Ladi LG Sec.
311	Bokkos/Mangu	Bokkos/Mangu	10	350	Mangu LG Sec.
312	Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam	Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam	16	357	Pankshin LG Sec.
313	Wase	Wase	12	122	Wase LG Sec.
314	L/North/L/south	Lantang North/ Lantang South	14	182	L/North LG Sec.
315	Mikang/Qua'anpan/Shen dam	Mikang/Qua'anpan/Shen dam	12	408	Shendam LG Sec.

STATE CONSTITUENCIES

S/N	CONSTITUENCY	CODE	COLLATION CENTER
1	B/Ladi	SC/01/PL	B/Ladi LGAs Secretariat
2	Pengana	SC/02/PL	Govt. College Jingre
3	Rukuba/Irigwe	SC/03/PL	LGA Office, Bassa
4	Bokkos	SC/O4/PL	Bokkos LGAs Secretariat
5	Jos East	SC/05/PL	Jos East LGAs Secretariat
6	Jos North	SC/06/PL	Jos North LG Sec.
7	Jos North West	SC/07/PL	Govt. College Jos
8	Jos South	SC/08/PL	Jos South LGC secretarial
9	Kanke	SC/09/PL	Kanke LGC secretarial
10	Pankshin North	SC/10/PL	Pankshin LG Sec.
11	Pankshin South	SC/11/PL	Jibilik Primary School
12	Dengi	SC/12/PL	Kanam LG Sec.
13	Kantana	SC/13/PL	LEA Primary School
14	Langtang North	SC/14/PL	Langtang North LG Sec.
15	Langtang Central	SC/15/PL	FGC Langtang
16	Langtang South	SC/16/PL	Langtang South LG Sec.
17	Mangu South	SC/17/PL	Mangu LG Sec.
18	Mangu North	SC/18/PL	College of Education Gindiri
19	Mikang	SC/19/PL	Mikang LGC secretarial
20	Qua'anpan North	SC/20/PL	Qua'anpan LG Secretariat
21	Qua'anpan South	SC/21/PL	College of Arts, Sci & Rem. Studies Kurgwi

22	Riyom	SC/22/PL	Riyom LG Sec.
23	Shendam	SC/23/PL	Shebdan LGC Sec
24	Wase	SC/24/PL	Wase LGC Sec.

STATE MANAGEMENT TEAM

S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION	PHONE
1	Dr. Godwin Kwanga	REC	07066501237
2	Baba U. Bukar	Admin. Sec	0803600723
3	Philip I. Wayo	HOD F/Acct	08036583562
4	Osaretin Osah	HOD VEP	07033853096
5	Yagba S. Kundu	HOD E.OPS	07038577335
6	Joshua Abubakar	HOD EPM	07036827880
7	Usman Wase	HOD GAP	08036358384
8	Wakili Tol	HOD VR/ICT	08023070215
9	Florence Umar	HOU Audit	08034537486
10	Ibyem Stephen I.	HOU Legal	08036731963

ELECTORAL OFFICERS

S/N	LGA	NAMES	PHONE NO.
1	Barkin Ladi	Leo N.Da'e	07036546161
2	Bassa	Salamatu I. Inusa	08033464009
3	Bokkos	Mary Tunkuyo	080362206286
4	Jos East	Aminu T. Gimba	07032355531
5	Jos North	Y.T. Husseini	08032077013
6	Jos South	Gayus Hassan	08037790215
7	Kanam	Salihu Adamu Musa	08036051667
8	Kanke	David T. Ugba	07038276363
9	Langtang North	Elizabeth Atsen	08036078696
10	Langtag South	Egwurube M. Otokpa	07032091002
11	Mangu	Audu B. Kagara	08065441079
12	Mikang	Oguche James	08035958364
13	Pankshin	Laminu S. Shittu	08034542178
14	Qua'anpan	Mutsan K. Dashan	08031179105
15	Riyom	Dishion Guleduwa	08031175001
16	Shendam	Abdullahi Abubakar	08097839170
17	Wase	Lawal Ladan	08032874059

MEMBERS OF ICCES

S/N	NAMES	AGENCY	PHONE
1	CP Nasiru Oki	Police	08034745387
2	Ibimiku V. Solomon (ACS)	NSCDC	080268741890
3	Zandi G. Maina	NSCDC	08037757223
4	GP Capt D.Y Baltu (Ftd)	OPS RAINBOW	07052747684
5	Major E A Nwachukwu	HQ STF	07039803353
6	ACP Charles Ezeala	Police	07034728055

7	ACP Haruna G.Garba	Police	08033763506
8	Rebecca .D. Sanda	D.S.S	08035975655
9	A.O. Adelana	D.S.S	08034493077
10	Col Mo Jimoh	HQ 3Div, Army	08033292657
11	Colonel M H Magaji	HQ STF	07036429636
12	Christiana A. Isah	Immigration Services	08133213334
13	CSP Elvis Amabeoku	Police	08065324505
14	DSP Abu Emmanuel	Police PRO	08039643676
15	GP Capt Akinyele	Air Force	08035910476
16	ASP Domonic	PA-CP	08032924954

HOTLINES: 09023906885, 09023870310

07066501237

REC

Dr. Godwin Kwanga